ESOL and Citizenship Courses

The Entry Level 3 ESOL is now a requirement for immigrants who want to become citizens of the United Kingdom. The Entry Level 3 is simply a title or certification given to a person who is qualified by accredited schools, colleges, and other establishments which means that a person can understand the English language in that level. As a result, people who are certified Level 3 or higher are given the rights to apply for UK citizenship. On the contrary, people assessed with levels below the Level 3 are recommended to pursue learning the level 3 ESOL before applying for UK citizenship. However, a solution for this problem is learning and improving one’s knowledge in English which can be achieved through the English Speakers of other Languages or ESOL.

What is ESOL?

ESOL courses are mainly designed for immigrants from other countries who are on the running towards becoming a UK citizen and whose first language is not the English language. ESOL courses will basically teach them how to speak, read, write, and listen in the English language in order to progress to other courses or get a job while living in the United Kingdom.

What is ESOL 3?

In October 2013, the government of the United Kingdom has made changes regarding the qualifications of people wanting to become UK citizens. They added the Entry Level 3 speaking and listening skills in English Language as a major requirement. The chief reason for this addition is to ensure that those people who wanted to become a part of the UK society can understand everything he hears or reads with ease. The Level 3 ESOL also signifies that a prospective UK citizen can summarize information, construct sensible arguments with coherent accounting. Additionally, this level also certifies that a future resident of UK can express himself fluently and precisely ensuring that he will be able to easily interact with people around him.

What are the Accredited Colleges and Those that are not?

In order for an aspiring UK citizen to get an Entry Level 3 qualifications or higher, he should attend an ESOL course in an accredited college or establishment. ESOL courses are accessible throughout UK and these courses are offered in different levels: beginner, intermediate, advanced, and mastery. The entry level 3 usually ranges from pre-intermediate up to post-intermediate level. The latter two can be accessed by those people who wanted to master and perfect their English skills.

In order for one to know if his college is an accredited one for ESOL, the following organizations must be the one who accredited the college:

  • Accreditation Service for International Colleges

  • The British Accreditation Council (BAC)

  • Ofsted

  • The Accreditation Body for Language Services (ABLS)

  • Accreditation UK (The British Council)

There are also awarding bodies in Northern Ireland, Wales, and England who are approved by the government. They are:

  • Trinity College London

  • National Open College Network

  • Education Development International

  • English Speaking Board

  • Edexcel

  • City and Guilds

  • Cambridge ESOL

  • Ascentis

People should be careful when applying in establishments offering ESOL courses. This can be done by ensuring that their prospective college is included in the aforementioned accredited ones. Else, after finishing an ESOL course in an unaccredited college, their certification may not be considered by the officials. However, the government may still change some of their current standards and may include more establishments in their accreditation list. That is why it is very important to keep on the updates.

At the end of an ESOL course, students are expected to become certified Level 3 or higher ESOL learners. If one is good enough and got a certification of Level 3 ESOL or higher, he can now be a UK citizen as long as he accomplish the other requirements aside from this.