MUCH Tougher requirements for the British Citizenship

From the 28 October 2013, The Home Office is introducing much tougher requirements for migrants who wish to settle in the UK, or to become naturalized as British citizens.

All applicants are required to demonstrate

1. standard Knowledge Of Language and

2. Life in the UK (the KOLL requirement).

From 28 October 2013, all applicants in both categories will be required to pass both the Life in the UK (LITUK) Test and to hold a B1 (intermediate) level English language speaking and listening qualification, or its equivalent. This change is aimed to strengthen the citizenship process, ensuring that migrants are ready and able to successfully integrate into British Society.
The Knowledge of Language and Life Requirement for Settlement (Indefinite leave to remain)
After having lived legally in the UK for a certain length of time, migrants can apply for settlement. However, there are two requirements that must be met by all applicants unless the individual is exempt.

Applicants will be required to:
1. Pass the Life in the UK test; and
2. Have a speaking and listening qualification in English at B1 CEFR (intermediate level) or higher, or its equivalent.

The Knowledge of Language and Life Requirement for Naturalisation
The KoLL requirement for naturalisation as a British citizen will be the same as that for settlement, and the same English language qualifications will be accepted.

English Language Qualifications
A range of English language qualifications will be accepted as evidence that an applicant has met the B1 level speaking and listening standards.

These include:
1. Qualifications covering speaking and listening at B1 or above from the┬áHome Office’s Secure English Language Test (SELT) list.

2. English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) speaking and listening qualifications at entry level 1, 2, 3. All qualifications must have been regulated by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual). The qualification must be listed as an ESOL qualification on the Ofqual Register of Regulated Qualifications and must have been taken in England, Wales or Northern Ireland.

3. A National Qualification in ESOL at Scottish Qualifications Framework levels 4, 5 or 6, awarded by the Scottish Qualifications Authority and taken in Scotland.