Tag Archives: Chapter 2 summary

New Life in the UK test chapter 2 summary – Life in the United Kingdom: A Guide for New Residents – 3rd Edition

What is the UK?

  • The United Kingdom is made up of four different countries. These are:

    • Scotland

    • Northern Ireland

    • England

    • Wales

  • The official name of the country is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. “Great Britain” refers to only three countries (Scotland, England, and Wales). However, the words “Britain”, “British Isles”, and “British” are used to describe the entirety of the United Kingdom, including Northern Ireland. This is the shortest and the easiest chapter of all ! best of all the whole chapter can be remembered as
    N = Northern Ireland
    E = England
    W = Wales
    S = Scotland
    so all you have to do is remember NEWS and you now know the 4 !
    also for
    Great Britain = EWS
    E = England
    W = Wales
    S = Scotland

    i.e the last three (3) letters of NEWS, so just remove N (=Northern Ireland) for Great Britain!

  • There are territories near and linked within the UK territory but they are not part of the UK. These territories are called “Crown dependencies”. Examples of these territories are the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.


  • The UK is governed by the parliament in Westminster, England. The other three countries also have a parliamentary government or assemblies of their own, with devolved powers.

    Please remember that it’s very important to remember these details, as you might get questions on the final test from this chapter 2. So don’t even think about ignoring this chapter just because it’s only 1 pages and can be remembered as NEWS and EWS. As always if you have any question please let me know by contacting us via http://lifeuk.info/contact-us/

  • the Next chapter is Chapter 3 is here (http://lifeuk.info/chapter-3-summary/)